Current Nawat at Egyptian ports
  • Red Sea Next Sohail (El-Zabrah) Start 20 September - Duration 13 day ، Summer
  • Mediterranean Sea Next El-Salib Winds Start 30 September - Duration 3 days ، Mostly rainy

The assessment of operation contracts of new ports (Port Said and North El Sokhna) – (April 2003)

The entity that carried out the study

The Maritime Research and Consultations Center affiliated to the Maritime Transport Sector – Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime Transport.

The objective of the study

The creation of an economic and marketing atmosphere capable of attracting world and experienced companies in the field of ports and terminals operation. Urging the establishment of companies with experience and conditions complying with the international standards and helping these companies to enter the competition field through tendering the operation of North El Sokhna and East Port Said to world companies with B.O.T system.

Results

  • The study revealed the inconsistency between the existing container companies and North El Sokhna and Suez Canal Container Terminal companies with regard to both the privileges provided or obligations required in each of these companies; for a number of reasons namely (the absence of contracts or separate legal formulas governing the relation between the three container companies and port authorities).
  • The inconsistency in the relation between port authorities, world companies and concession agreements companies.
  • It is not easy to achieve the consistency between Suez Canal Container Terminal and Alexandria Container Terminal as 95% of the volume of containers handled in Alexandria container terminal is local (20L.E) while 10L.E /40 ft. container and 5 L.E/ 20 ft. container are collected for transit containers. The taxes payments item in Alexandria Container Terminal is much higher than its counterpart in Port Said and Damietta terminals.
  • The inconsistency between the obligations of Port Said Container and Cargo Handling Company and the obligations of El Sokhna Development Company whether with regard to tax treatment or chartering rate.

Recommendations

  • Translate the licenses provided by the operation contacts concluded between the three container companies and port authorities and that define the obligations and responsibilities of each party.
  • The study proposes that the existing container companies take the necessary procedures to operate according to Law 159/1981 and the Investment Law no.8/1997 in order to gain the same privileges provided to new companies as well as concluding new contracts with port authorities based on the same elements of contracts concluded with Suez Canal Container Terminal and North El Sokhna Development Company.

النوات الحالية علي سواحل الجمهورية
  • البحر الاحمر النوه القادمة: المربعانيه (اﻻكليل) تبدأ في 7 ديسمبر - ومدتها 13 يوم ، بداية البرد
  • البحر المتوسط النوه القادمة: أنواء الفيضة الصغيرة تبدأ في 19 ديسمبر - ومدتها 5 ايام ، شمالية غربية يصاحبها اﻻمطار

الجهة المعدة للدراسة:

مركز البحوث و الاستشارات لقطاع النقل البحرى – الأكاديمية العربية للعلوم والتكنولوجيا.

الهدف من الدراسة:

توفير مناخ اقتصادي و تسويقى لدية القدرة على جذب الشركات العالمية ذات الخبرة فى تشغيل الموانى و محطات التداول و التشجيع على تأسيس شركات بشروط و خبرات ترقى الى مستوي العالمية، و مساعدة هذه الشركات على تحقيق اوضاع تنافسية، و ذلك من خلال طرح تشغيل موانى شمال السخنة و شرق بورسعيد على الشركات العالمية بنظام B.O.T.

النتائج:

  • اوضحت الدراسة عدم وجود توازن بين اوضاع شركات الحاويات القائمة و شركتى تنمية شمال السخنة و قناة السويس لتداول الحاويات سواء من حيث الامتيازات الممنوحة او الالتزامات المطلوبة فى كل من هذه الشركات و ذلك لعدة اسباب اهمها (عدم وجود عقود أو صيغ قانون مفصلة تحكم العلاقة بين شركات الحاويات الثلاثة وهيئات الموانئ).
  • عدم التوازن فى العلاقة بين هيئات الموانى و الشركات العالمية و شركات عقود الامتياز.
  • من الصعب إحداث توازن بين شركة قناة السويس لتداول الحاويات و محطة حاويات الاسكندرية و ذلك لأن نسبة 95% من حجم الحاويات المتداولة بمحطة حاويات الاسكندرية يتم برسم البلد (20 جنيه) فى حين أن في حالة تداول الحاويات الترانزيت يتم تحصيل مقابل تداول قدره 10 جنيه للحاوية 40 قدم و 5 جنيه للحاوية 20 قدم، كما أن بند المدفوعات الضريبية فى محطة حاويات الاسكندرية أعلى بكثير من مثيله فى محطتي بورسعيد و دمياط.
  • عدم وجود توازن بين التزامات شركة بورسعيد لتداول الحاويات والبضائع و بين التزامات شركة تنمية السخنة سواء من حيث المعاملة الضريبية أو معدل الإيجار للمتر للمربع.

التوصيات:

  • العمل على ترجمة الترخيص القائم على عقود التشغيل و ذلك بين شركات الحاويات الثلاث و هيئات الموانى يتحدد من خلالها التزامات و مسئوليات كل طرف.
  • من جهة أخري نقترح أن تحاول شركات الحاويات الحالية اتخاذ الخطوات الإجرائية نحو الانتقال للعمل تحت مظلة القانون (159) لسنة (81) و قانون الاستثمار رقم (8) لسنة (97) لكى تتمتع هذه الشركات بنفس المزايا الممنوحة للشركات الجديدة و من خلال تعاقدات جديدة مع هيئات الموانى تتركز على نفس عناصر العقود المبرمة مع شركتى قناة السويس لتداول الحاويات و تنمية شمال السخنة.